First Blog Part Two

Posted: July 16, 2010 in Creating Abundance
Tags: , , , , , ,

For your very first time it is all very different, scary and daunting. What am I talking about? Blogging that is. I wrote about First Blog (part one) at Creating Abundance a few days back. At the end of my post I promised to include part two…and seen as I am a person (or more correct a Women!!) of walking the walk….talking the talk – Here is part two.

First Time Blogging.

First Time anything and everything is scary. Can you remember the first time you went on a date? How dressed up you got…how excited when your date knocked at the door or when you went to pick up your date? Were your hands all sweaty and your heart was racing away a hundred miles an hour. Then the door opens up and its the dreaded Father with a hundred questions? Or sometimes its the dreaded family asking questions? How about how nervous the girl is…..oh gosh my Dad is sure to embarrass me and scare the boyfriend away for ever! 🙂

First Time Datting.

Well Blogging is a bit like that. It is like meeting your first date, or going on your first date. Get it right and the date will happen again, and again and can sometimes lead to marriage. Get blogging right and you are on a first date…..could even lead to lifetime friends coming back again and again to one site.

More Information About Blogging continues…

  • Start your blog of with a teasing headline. Grab your readers attention straight up – or straight down if you like!
  • First impressions will last, but again this is the internet so you are little bit lucky – you might not impress the first date that comes along but you could grab another date from a different person!
  • Use your imagination to continue with teasing your date. The readers like to know what you are going to write about next – so try to leave your blogs with a PS Statement.
  • Ask questions. Get your audience to interact with you…the more you ask of the internet world the more they would love to share with you.
  • Start your Blog off with an easy to read post. I normally try to stay around 580 words per post. Sometimes I go way over (for that I apologise). I think it’s a girl thing…..we love to talk:)
  • Have an About Me Page so that if someone is new to Creating Abundance you can find out why I write about my passions.
  • Use headings with each section of your post – a bit like an essay….Introduction, Body and Conclusion. Have headings that stand out so that if your date is not ready to stick around until the end and eat the desert – then at least they have a brief outline.
  • Remember to include your name at the end of each post. It’s a common mistake I see with many blogs – you sometimes can not even find out who the person is that you are connecting with…..Some blogs have no names, photos or about me pages.
  • Throw in some humor – I have a wicked sense of humor and I love to try to display that in my post on Creating Abundance and Healthy Lifestyle Challenge.

Information Overload.

I realised that I need to keep true to my word, I have reached the end of the line 🙂 With having so much more to share about First Time Blogging there will be another part – Part Three will be revealed shortly. All I am asking of you is….ASK me as many questions as you want answered about blogging. I am looking forward to going on a date with you, so share your blog in the comments below so we can be new friends!

Cheers
Lisa Wood

PS:- I am a happily married women so my dates are friendly internet dates only 🙂

Comments
  1. bendedspoon says:

    so much helpful tips in here! can’t find part 3 or it isn’t posted yet? anyhow, thank you so much for this. would you be kind enough to check on my blog and critic? i am fairly new at 1 month old so help from pro is greatly appreciated. thank you 🙂

    • Lisa Wood says:

      Hello Bendedspoon,

      I have yet to creat part 3 of helpful hints and tips for blogging!! Will love to check out your blog, and leave a comment. Thanks for stopping on here at Creating Abundance 🙂

      Cheers
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

